| title | Setting up a trial of GitHub Enterprise Cloud | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| intro | Learn how to set up a trial of {% data variables.product.prodname_ghe_cloud %}, what is included in the trial, and what happens when the trial ends. | ||||||
| redirect_from |
|
||||||
| versions |
|
||||||
| shortTitle | Enterprise Cloud trial | ||||||
| category |
|
||||||
| docsTeamMetrics |
|
After you've decided which type of enterprise is right for you (see AUTOTITLE), you can set up your trial.
If you choose an {% data variables.enterprise.prodname_emu_enterprise %}, you'll also choose whether to create your trial on {% data variables.product.prodname_dotcom_the_website %} or {% data variables.enterprise.data_residency_site %}. Trials on {% data variables.product.prodname_dotcom_the_website %} include {% data variables.product.prodname_GHAS %} features. Trials on {% data variables.enterprise.data_residency_site %} support regional data residency, but some features are not available. See AUTOTITLE.
The trial lasts for {% data reusables.enterprise.ghec-trial-length %} days and includes the following features.
- Access to most {% data variables.product.prodname_ghe_cloud %} features.
- An enterprise account, which allows you to manage multiple organizations. See AUTOTITLE.
- Up to 50 licenses to grant access to users.
- {% data variables.product.prodname_GH_cs_and_sp %} ({% data variables.product.prodname_dotcom_the_website %} trials only)
- Up to 3,000 minutes of standard {% data variables.product.prodname_dotcom %}-hosted runners.
The 50,000 monthly {% data variables.product.prodname_actions %} minutes included with a paid {% data variables.product.prodname_ghe_cloud %} plan do not apply during the trial. The trial includes up to 3,000 minutes of standard {% data variables.product.prodname_dotcom %}-hosted runners. If your trial uses {% data variables.product.prodname_emus %}, you must link an Azure subscription to exceed this limit. If your trial doesn't use {% data variables.product.prodname_emus %}, linking an Azure subscription immediately ends the trial and begins paid usage. For more information, see AUTOTITLE.
- {% data variables.product.prodname_github_codespaces %}
- {% data variables.copilot.copilot_enterprise %}
- {% data variables.copilot.copilot_for_business %}
- {% data variables.product.prodname_sponsors %}
- Paid {% data variables.product.prodname_marketplace %} apps
- {% data variables.product.prodname_github_connect %}
- {% data variables.large_files.product_name_long %}
- For {% data variables.product.prodname_actions %}, increased minutes, job concurrency, and {% data variables.actions.hosted_runners %}
- Access to {% data variables.product.prodname_ghe_server %}. To test this, contact {% data variables.contact.contact_enterprise_sales %}.
If you invite an existing organization into your trial enterprise, all of these features will be disabled. If you remove the organization from the enterprise, the features will be re-enabled.
You do not need to provide a payment method to start a trial.
After you set up your trial, you can explore {% data variables.product.prodname_ghe_cloud %} by following the suggested tasks on the "Getting started" tab of your enterprise account.
You can create up to three new organizations in the trial enterprise, or transfer any number of existing organizations.
When transferring existing organizations, keep in mind these restrictions:
- You cannot transfer organizations if you selected an {% data variables.enterprise.prodname_emu_enterprise %}.
- You cannot transfer organizations that have free or paid {% data variables.product.prodname_marketplace %} apps. Free apps are supported for new organizations in the trial.
- You cannot transfer organizations that are already owned by another enterprise.
- Billing for transferred organizations is paused during the trial and any coupons are removed. To reapply a coupon, contact {% data variables.contact.contact_support_page %}.
- Organizations created during the trial cannot be removed from the enterprise account until you purchase {% data variables.product.prodname_enterprise %}.
For help setting up the included features, once you've started your trial, see AUTOTITLE.
You can end your trial at any time by purchasing {% data variables.product.prodname_enterprise %} or canceling the trial. Otherwise, after {% data reusables.enterprise.ghec-trial-length %} days, your trial will expire.
{% data variables.product.prodname_enterprise %} trial accounts are automatically deleted 90 days after the trial period ends if the account has not been converted to a paid account.
You can cancel your trial anytime in the "Danger zone" section of your enterprise settings.
- Organizations that you transferred into the enterprise are removed and reverted to their previous plans and settings.
- Enterprise owners and members lose access to the enterprise account and any organizations that you created during the trial.
- Organizations that you transferred into the enterprise are removed and reverted to their previous plans and settings.
- Enterprise owners and members retain access to the enterprise account and organizations created during the trial in a downgraded state, allowing you to either upgrade to {% data variables.product.prodname_enterprise %} or move assets elsewhere.
- You can delete an expired trial to remove people's access to the enterprise and organizations created during the trial.